The Blue Soil model

REGENERATE OUR PLANET

RESTORING HUMAN PLACE IN ECOSYSTEMS

REGENERATING SOIL BIOLOGY

Temporality of ecosystems

temporalité

If humans take 4 to 6 weeks to regenerate skin cells or a few weeks to regenerate our intestines, it takes decades for the Earth and its ecosystems to do it.

we are the proof that the temporality of Nature does not have a single time scale.

Believing that the soil is a disconnected structure from streams, forests and climate is non sense. To believe that we can immediately produce enough crops to feed everyone is suicide.

This effect is not due to an efficiency problem of natural and regenerative methods, but to the slowness of the regeneration processes of the earth’s equilibrium. We are paying the price for a disconnected thought from Nature and now we must be patient in emergency time.”

3 STEPS

Immediate

The 2.0 Aquaponics system

Take action

Aquaponics for food self-sufficiency and soil regeneration

Its classic operation

Aquaponics is a natural soilless system combining 3 ecosystems: fish farming, bacteria culture and water plant cultivation. This system is symbiotic and ecological. Unlike hydroponics, which uses synthetic nutrients and is equivalent to still using chemical fertilizers, aquaponics uses fish defecation as a nutrient source. The management of a decomposition cycle is therefore central to aquaponics.

Despite the visual difference between soil and water cultivation, there are bacteriological similarities in nutrient decomposition.

The defecation of fish is transformed into nutrients thanks to bacteria grown in aquaponics. The work of these invisible beings, aerobic bacteria, is central to both soil biology and aquaponics.  The ionic solution (N, P, K, Mg, Ca ..) is absorbable for plant roots.

This closed water or edible phytopurification system, represented by aquaponics, brings directly to the root system of plants the nutrients they need to develop. So the plants grow 2 to 3 times faster. This super-growth is explained by the fact that the nutrients are directly transported to the root systems, so that the vital energy of the plant usually required for root development is rather deployed in the foliar development.

Its advantages

Its disadvantages

  • 100% natural
  • 0 chemicals
  • 0 synthetic fertiliser NPK
  • 85% of fresh water saved per year depending on the climate
  • X 2 for plant growth rate
  • 100% regenerative system
  • Polyculture
  • Abundant harvest
  • 1 system = 1 person for maintenance
  • Little time consuming
  • 100% transitional system
  • Limits diseases, predators and fungi
  • Does not allow to make seed (depletion of phenotype conditions)
  • Depends on a greenhouse
  • Depends on electrical energy (solar panel, wind or sector)

The 2.0 of aquaponics is my signature, my own style in my way of doing aquaponics. Inspired by the First Peoples and their understanding of the world of water, the scientific studies on the management and conservation of rivers prove them right. Water is alive. The use of strong currents, oxygenation and vortices are the key to the aquatic and terrestrial living world. So I’m just mimicking the behaviour of streams and rivers in my aquaponics.”

Food self-sufficiency

Despite the bad reputation of aquaponics because of its above-ground appearance, it is nevertheless a kind of 4X4 of agriculture allowing us to quickly achieve food self-sufficiency when the ecosystems of the planet are breathless and can no longer produce.

In a context of food scarcity and the collapse of our natural ecosystems, it thus makes it possible to establish social peace through the plate.

Its use should be moderate and wise. Replacing the traditional culture with soilless culture means falling back into a system of human exploitation on Nature and artificializing agricultural land. The average size of aquaponic systems on Blue Soil micro farms is between 100m2 and 200m2.

An invention to regenerate soil biology, a patent filed in 2019

Aquaponics is also anchored in the soil, because the bacteriological similarities it shares with soil biology make it an elixir just as valuable as Dr. Elaine INGHAM’s compost tea, world-renowned American microbiologist for his work on compost and soil revival.

Under the Blue Soil model, not only does aquaponics provide undeniable food resilience, it revives soil microbiology and allows ecosystems to heal according to their own temporalities.

Aquaponics are therefore a transition tool to ensure food security while life resumes in our soils and waterways.

Filing of patent FR19.063.64

5-7 years

Agroecology

Revivifying soils

The process

Ecological emergency

In the current context, we have forgotten to take into account the temporality notion of the regenerative processes of the Earth. Regenerating Nature and restoring its ecosystems requires patience and knowledge. How to treat when we do not yet understand the mechanisms of the initial functioning? Depending on the state of degradation of ecosystems and especially of the soil, production may not be up to date with our current emergency and food needs.

Food emergency

How can we feed 7 billion people in a world in crisis where ecosystems no longer allow us to feed ourselves? We must combine a set of methods corresponding to different temporalities of the earth’s regeneration processes. While aquaponics respond to immediate needs and in a transitional and temporary way, it also helps to restore the biological life of the soil.

“We are the gardeners of the planet, that is our charge, as human beings. It is not to extract, it is not to destroy, it is to maintain natural interaction sothat we don’t destroy our society”

“We are the gardeners of the planet, it is our responsibility as human beings. It is not about extracting or destroying, it is about maintaining natural interactions in order to preserve our society.”

Dr. Elaine INGHAM

2015 Oxford University

The patented process uses aquaponics to revive soils. Inspired by the body of work on the biological functioning of soil food webs (Soil Food Web), it seemed obvious to me to put the world of water in interaction with the world of soil.

 Imagine the soil like your intestines. You have an intestinal microbiota to be healthy and absorb nutrients and minerals. The soil, the macroscopic intestine on which we walk, requires a plant microbiota to store nutrients and produce crops. Now, if you don’t have bacteria and fungi in your intestines, you just get sick, don’t digest, don’t absorb those nutrients…. Like you, the soil as a macro-intestine has its own plant microbiota. To be naturally productive, digest and redistribute nutrients to plant roots it must therefore have a set of micro-organisms such as bacteria, fungus, protozoa, arthropod, nematode…”.

The Innovative Process is a transition tool that boosts microbiology:

  • A transition tool for farmers and other social actors
  • A way to trigger the change from conventional to regenerative farming methods based on biomimetic processes
  • A solution to stop chemical inputs immediately
  • It allows you to leave the time and let Nature do to regain its balance.
  • A way to multiply production lines and

10 years +

The Agro-forestry

REGENERATIVE AGRICULTURE, A LONG-TERM VISION

As part of the Blue Soil model, steps 1 and 2 allow us to solve the problems of temporality, health emergencies and to start reviving the soil.

The integration of compost tea, permaculture, agroecology, agroforestry and biodynamic methods must be implemented as soon as possible after the installation of the aquaponic system.

“Our place as human is then nothing more than to accompany the Earth in its healing with all the available natural methods».

The third step is to ensure the implementation of

  • Compost
  • Agroecology
  • Agroforestry
  • Biodynamic

Le modèle blue soil

RÉGÉNÉRER NOTRE PLANÈTE

RESTAURER LA PLACE DE L’HUMAIN DANS LES ÉCOSYSTÈMES

RÉGÉNÉRER LA BIOLOGIE DES SOLS

La temporalité des écosystèmes

temporalité

« Si les humains mettent 4 à 6 semaines pour régénérer les cellules de la peau ou quelques semaines pour régénérer nos intestins ; la terre et ses écosystèmes mettent des dizaines d’années.

La temporalité de la Nature ne dispose pas d’une seule et même échelle de temps, nous en sommes la preuve.

Croire que le sol est une structure déconnectée des cours d’eau, des forêts et du climat est absurde. Croire que nous pouvons produire immédiatement un nombre suffisant de récoltes pour nourrir tout le monde revient à du suicide.

Cet effet est imputé non pas à un problème d’efficacité des méthodes naturelles et régénératives, mais lié à la lenteur des processus de régénération de l’équilibre de la terre. Nous payons le prix d’une pensée déconnectée de la Nature et devons désormais être patient dans l’urgence ».

3 ÉTAPES

Immédiat

L’Aquaponie 2.0

Passer à l’action

L’aquaponie, pour l’autonomie alimentaire et régénérer les sols

Son fonctionnement classique

L’aquaponie est un système hors-sol naturel combinant 3 écosystèmes : la pisciculture, la culture de bactéries et la culture de plantes en eau. Ce système est symbiotique et écologique. Différent de l’hydroponie qui utilise des nutriments synthétiques et qui équivaut à encore utiliser des fertilisants chimiques, l’aquaponie utilise la défécation des poissons comme source de nutriment. La gestion d’un cycle de décomposition est donc centrale en aquaponie.

Malgré la différence visuelle entre culture en sol et en eau, il y a des similitudes bactériologiques dans la décomposition des nutriments.

La défécation des poissons est transformée en nutriments grâce aux bactéries cultivées en aquaponie. Le travail de ces êtres invisibles que sont les bactéries aérobies, est central à la fois dans la biologie des sols et dans l’aquaponie.  La solution ionique (N, P, K, Mg, Ca ..) est absorbable  pour les racines des plantes.

Ce circuit d’eau fermé ou phytoépuration comestible que représente l’aquaponie, apporte donc directement au niveau du système racinaire des plantes les nutriments dont elles ont besoin pour se développer. Ainsi les plantes poussent 2 à 3 fois plus vite. Cette super-croissance s’explique par le fait que les nutriments sont directement acheminés aux systèmes racinaires, si bien que l’énergie vitale de la plante habituellement réquisitionnée pour le développement racinaire est plutôt déployée dans le développement foliaire.

Ses avantages

Ses inconvénients

  • 100% naturel
  • 0 produits chimiques
  • 0 engrais synthétique NPK
  • 85% d’eau douce économisée par an selon les climats
  • X 2 pour la vitesse de croissance des plantes
  • Système régénérateur à 100%
  • Polyculture
  • Récolte abondante
  • 1 système = 1 personne pour la maintenance
  • Peu chronophage
  • Système 100% transitoire
  • Limite les maladies, prédateurs et champignons
  • Ne permet pas de faire de la semence (appauvrissement des conditions du phénotype)
  • Dépend d’une serre
  • Dépend de l’énergie électrique (panneau solaire, éolienne ou secteur)

Aquaponie 2.0

« Le 2.0 de l’aquaponie est ma signature, mon propre style dans ma manière de faire de l’aquaponie. Inspirée par les peuples premiers et leurs compréhensions du monde de l’eau, les études scientifiques portant sur la gestion et conservation des cours d’eau leurs donne raison. L’eau est vivante. L’utilisation des courants forts, de l’oxygénation et des vortex sont la clef du monde vivant aquatique et terrien. Je ne fais donc que mimer les comportements des ruisseaux et rivières dans mes systèmes d’aquaponie ».

Autonomie alimentaire

Malgré la mauvaise réputation de l’aquaponie de par son aspect hors-sol, elle est pourtant une sorte de 4X4 de l’agriculture nous permettant d’obtenir rapidement une autonomie alimentaire lorsque les écosystèmes de la planète sont à bout de souffle et n’arrivent plus à produire.

Dans un contexte de pénurie alimentaire et d’effondrement de nos écosystèmes naturels elle permet ainsi d’instaurer une paix sociale par l’assiette.

Son utilisation doit être modérée et sage. Remplacer le sol par du hors-sol revient à retomber dans un système d’exploitation de l’humain sur la Nature et a artificialiser les terres agricoles. La taille moyenne de systèmes d’aquaponie des micro-fermes Blue Soil est entre 100m2 à 200m2.

Une invention pour régénérer la biologie des sols, un brevet déposé en 2019

L’aquaponie est aussi bien ancrée dans le sol, car les similitudes bactériologiques qu’elle partage avec la biologie du sol font d’elle un élixir tout aussi précieux que le thé de compost du Dr. Elaine INGHAM, célèbre microbiologiste américaine de renommée internationale pour ses travaux sur le compost et la revivification des sols.

Dans le cadre du modèle Blue Soil, non seulement l’aquaponie permet une résilience alimentaire incontestable, elle revivifie la microbiologie des sols et permet aux écosystèmes de cicatriser selon leurs propres temporalités.

L’aquaponie est donc un outil de transition permettant d’assurer une sécurité alimentaire le temps que la vie reprenne dans nos sols et nos cours d’eau.

Dépôt de brevet FR19.063.64

5-7 ans

Agroécologie

Revivifier les sols

Le processus

 

Urgence écologique

Dans le contexte actuel, nous avons oublié de prendre en compte la notion de temporalité des processus régénérateurs de la Terre. Régénérer la Nature et restaurer ses écosystèmes nécessitent patience et connaissances. Comment soigner quand on ne comprend pas encore les mécanismes du fonctionnement initial ? En fonction de l’état de dégradation des écosystèmes et notamment celui du sol, la production risque donc de ne pas être au rendez-vous avec notre urgence et besoin alimentaire actuels.

Urgence alimentaire

Comment nourrir 7 milliards d’humains dans un monde en crise où les écosystèmes ne permettent plus de nous nourrir dans l’immédiat ? Nous devons combiner un ensemble de méthodes correspondant à différentes temporalités des processus de régénérations de la terre. Si l’aquaponie répond aux besoins immédiats et de manière transitoire et temporaire, elle permet aussi de contribuer à la restitution de la vie biologique des sols.

We are the gardeners of the planet, that is our charge, as human beings. It is not to extract, it not to destroy, it is to maintain natural interaction sothat we don’t destroy our society”

Nous sommes les jardiniers de la planète, c’est de notre responsabilité, en tant qu’être humain. Elle n’est pas d’extraire, ni de détruire, elle revient à maintenir les interactions naturelles de manière à préserver notre société »

Dr. Elaine INGHAM

2015 Oxford University

Le processus breveté utilise l’aquaponie pour revivifier les sols. Inspirée par l’ensemble des travaux portés sur le fonctionnement biologique des réseaux trophiques du sol (Soil Food Web), il me semblait évident de mettre en interaction le monde de l’eau avec celui du sol.

 « Imaginez le sol comme vos intestins. Vous disposez d’un microbiote intestinal pour être en bonne santé et assimiler les nutriments et minéraux. Le sol, cet intestin macroscopique sur lequel nous marchons, nécessite un microbiote végétal pour stocker assimiler les nutriments et produire les récoltes. Maintenant, si vous n’avez pas de bactéries et champignons dans vos intestins, vous tombez tout simplement malade, ne digérez pas, n’assimilez plus ces nutriments…. Tout comme vous, le sol en tant que macro-intestin dispose de son propre microbiote végétal. Pour être naturellement productif, digérer et redistribuer les nutriments aux racines des plantes il doit donc avoir un ensemble de micro-organismes tels que bactérie, champignon, protozoaire, arthropode, nématode… ».

Le Processus innovant est un outil de transition venant booster la microbiologie :

  • Un outil de transition pour les agriculteurs et autres acteurs sociaux
  • Un moyen pour enclencher le changement des méthodes conventionnelles à des méthodes d’agriculture régénérative basée sur des processus biomimétiques
  • Une solution pour stopper immédiatement les intrants chimiques
  • Il permet de laisser le temps et laisser faire la Nature pour retrouver son équilibre.
  • Un moyen de multiplier les lignes de production et les sources de revenus
  • Stimule les ateliers de transformation et l’économie locale

+10 ans

Agroforesterie

L’ AGRICULTURE RÉGÉNÉRATIVE, UNE VISION À LONG TERME

Dans le cadre du modèle Blue Soil, les étapes 1 et 2 nous permettent donc de résoudre les problèmes de temporalité, d’urgence sanitaire et de lancer la revivification des sols.

L’intégration des méthodes du thé de compost, de la permaculture, de l’agroécologie, de l’agroforesterie et de la biodynamie sont à mettre en place le plus tôt possible après l’installation du système d’aquaponie.

 « Notre place d’humain n’est alors rien d’autre que celle d’accompagner la terre dans sa cicatrisation avec l’ensemble des méthodes naturelles disponibles ».

La troisième étape est d’assurer la mise en place de

  • Compost
  • Agroécologie
  • Agroforesterie
  • Biodynamie